The team, chosen by a vote of the league’s coaches earlier this week, included five Huskers who received first-team All-Big 12 honors. First baseman Brandon Buckman, shortstop Ryan Wehrle, right fielder Luke Gorsett, starting pitcher Tony Watson and closer Brett Jensen were all first-team selections, giving the Huskers’ their highest number of first-team honorees since 2001. The five first-team selections also matches NU’s best mark in school history.

In addition to the five first-team honorees, Andrew Brown (utility) and Johnny Dorn (starting pitcher) were both chosen as second-team honorees, while Jake Opitz (second baseman), Jeff Christy (catcher), Nick Jaros (outfield) and Andy Gerch (designated hitter) were all honorable-mention picks.
All-Big 12 Team
First Team
1B —
(tie) Brandon Buckman, Nebraska; Chance Wheeless, Texas
2B — Jared Schweitzer, Kansas
3B — Tyler Mach, Oklahoma State
SS — Ryan Wehrle, Nebraska
C — Zach Dillon, Baylor
OF — Luke Gorsett, Nebraska; Drew Stubbs, Texas; Roger Kieschnick, Texas Tech
DH — (tie) Jacob Priday, Missouri; Hunter Harris, Texas
UTIL — Jordy Mercer (SS-P), Oklahoma State
SP — Nathan Culp, Missouri; Tony Watson, Nebraska; Kyle McCulloch, Texas
RP — Don Czyz, Kansas; Brett Jensen, Nebraska

Player of the Year — (co) Tyler Mach, Oklahoma State; Drew Stubbs, Texas
Pitcher of the Year — Kyle McCulloch, Texas
Newcomer of the Year — Tyler Mach, Oklahoma State
Freshman Player of the Year — OF Roger Kieschnick, Texas Tech
Freshman Pitcher of the Year — Miles Morgan, Texas Tech

Second Team
1B —
Kevin Smith, Oklahoma
2B — Russell Raley, Oklahoma; Shelby Ford, Oklahoma State
3B — Jared Goedert, Kansas State; Ryan Rohlinger, Oklahoma
SS — Beamer Weems, Baylor; Ritchie Price, Kansas
C — Matt Smith, Texas Tech
OF — John Allman, Kansas; Gus Milner, Kansas; Chuckie Caulfield, Oklahoma; Corey Brown, Oklahoma State; Keanon Simon, Oklahoma State; Carson Kainer, Texas
DH — Deik Scram, Oklahoma State
UTIL — Andrew Brown, Nebraska; Aaron Reza, Oklahoma
SP — Johnny Dorn, Nebraska; Daniel McCutchen, Oklahoma; Steven Guerra, Oklahoma; Brae Wright, Oklahoma State
RP — Austin Wood, Texas; Hart Hering, Texas A&M

Honorable Mention: Baylor — OF Seth Fortenberry; SP Ryan LaMotta; Kansas — SP Kodiak Quick; Kansas State — OF Joe Roundy; OF Barrett Rice; Missouri — OF Evan Frey; OF Zane Taylor; SP Max Scherzer; RP Travis Wendte; Nebraska — 2B Jake Opitz; C Jeff Christy; OF Nick Jaros; DH Andy Gerch; Oklahoma — C Jackson Williams; Oklahoma State — SP Matt Gardner; Texas A&M — SS Jose Salazar; Texas Tech — 2B Willie Rueda; SP Miles Morgan.

0 Comments | Write Comment

Comments are closed.

Daily Fantasy Sports Games at

Looking for the latest NFL picks & college football picks? Or maybe just free sports picks? If so check out the best sports betting site on the internet!

Popular Tags
Husker Fan Sites
Husker News Sites